Web Exclusive: Meet the Candidates!

Student council elections are Monday through Wednesday this week! Check out The Globe’s first-ever “Meet the Candidates” lineup to know what each candidate is all about. Note: this is not the final list of candidates. Only candidates whom we received information from are included in this. Ballots on the day of election may differ.

  1. Executive Board
  2. Senior Class
  3. Junior Class
  4. Sophomore Class

Executive Board

Noah WolfsonScreen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.25.46 PM

Grade: 11

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: After being involved in student council for the last three years, I’m running for president of the school because I understand the responsibilities it has and I would love to hold its position. As president of the school, I will bring energy and raise school spirit to enhance your high school experience. In addition, I will communicate with the student body to ensure that all issues are handled properly and everyone is enjoying high school.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: As president, my goal is to raise high school spirit to levels it has never been. To do this, I am bringing back our mascot, Tony the Tiger, to make our stands rowdy and create a lively environment. I promise you a rowdy high school experience as president and I hope you vote for me because it will guarantee a good time. VOTE WOLFSON


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.25.53 PMMadeline Riordan

Grade: 11

Running for: Executive Board

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for Student Council to help further expand my impact on Mamaroneck High School and its students. Currently, I have been on Student Council for three years now and I absolutely love it! I love being able to advocate for change many students want to see in Mamaroneck High School. I welcome new ideas to the table that will better your high school experience and want your voice, ideas and aspirations for your high school experience to be heard and ultimately come true. I want to be your voice. Some skills I bring to the table that help suit me for this position are: I am very engaging and love interacting with people. I will listen to what you want to be done and will advocate on your behalf. Secondly, I work hard. I want to be busy working on your behalf to get things done. The change you want to see, I will work hard to make it happen. The high school experience you want, I will work hard to make it happen. The new ideas and innovations you have that will benefit the school, I will install them. I want to take on the responsibility of making sure that you have a terrific high school experience at Mamaroneck High School.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One event I would incorporate into the school would be an annual Color Run. The Color Run would take place sometime in the spring with your friends with a fee of $2-$5. The task is to run 1-2 miles (or walk) and at the finish line you get covered with the colorful powder. At the end of the race, a BBQ would take place. Burgers, hot dogs, grilled cheese etc… would be served along with beverages. The idea of this event is to unify the student body with a fun activity and great food afterwards!


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 8.59.10 PM.pngCaitlyn Chapey

Grade: 11

Running for: Executive Board

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: Within the past three years of being on Student Council I have developed a passion for running events and establishing a voice throughout the school. As a member of the executive board I would be able to continue working my hardest for each and every students voice to get heard. My experiences with Student Council has given me a greater perspective on what students want and what the school really needs to improve on which would help me be a great contributor to the executive board

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event. If I were to add an event I would create bring your pet to school day. Any safe pet would be able to come to the days classes and different events throughout the day would be available to meet other pets and play with your pet. An event, for example, could be different outdoor or indoor optical courses to take an animal through or a meet and great of students different pets.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.26.03 PMCaroline Allen

Grade: 10

Running for: Executive Board

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: Whether it’s the amazing network of peers that you meet or just the opportunity to have your voice heard, Student Council has allowed me to find a place and a cause at MHS. By participating in Student Council, I get the benefit of creating environments in which every student, school wide, is able to feel like a part of something bigger than themselves. I feel that I am a valuable asset to student government because, as someone who is widely involved throughout the school – participating in activities such as field hockey, Backyard Sports, OSR, and jazz band – I am equipped to hear more students’ voices and, in turn, use that input to make positive and effective change.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: There are nearly 90 registered clubs and groups at MHS. Yet, they have seemingly been deprived of ample opportunities to have their hard work seen. I think it is important to give the many hidden talents across the school a platform to showcase their abilities other than the one chance they get at the MLK assembly. Creating an MHS Student Showcase scheduled in early April would allow clubs, such as Krazii Krew, The Ukulele Club and The Sound, as well as any other performance groups, to have one final chance to perform before AP testing and senior internships. This event would be most successful if held during the school day to allow the greatest level of participation. Ultimately, I think it is essential that support and appreciation are shown for our student performers, and the MHS Student Showcase would be a great start to that.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.26.10 PMDganit Alma

Grade: 10

Running for: Executive Board

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: Student Council is the first club I joined at Mamaroneck High School and it has been one of the best decisions I’ve made. Whether it’s working with my class to organize new events or working with people in every grade to continue old ones, I enjoy being apart of Student Council. Participating in Students for Senegal, OSR, Funkapella and playing on the soccer and lacrosse team I am able to reach people from many aspects of the school. Student Council is different from everything else I do because it is a way to bring everybody together in one school community. I hope to be on Exec Board next year and continue to organize events and bring people together.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: Student Council organizes many events throughout the year but one new event I would want to continue is the senior field day. I would want to make it annual because it is a way to spend one of your last days at the High School with everyone in your grade before everyone leaves for internships and college. It is a new event and I feel like it will be very successful and should be continued.


Kerry Soropoulos

Grade: 10

Running for: Executive Board

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I’m running for student council to bring my long term visions for the school to fruition. This vision focuses on coordinated class fundraising, and boosting school spirit. The skills I bring to the table are brainstorming, planning, and executing new ideas. As a current member of student council I have off showed these skills and plan to expand on them if elected to the executive board.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One example of an event I would like to explore implementing is a school-wide lip sync (or something along those lines). Big, school-wide events like this are the prerogative of the exec Board. An event such as this would succeed in boosting school spirit by involving all grades and even teachers! Elect me and we can expect new events, improved old ones, and an improved class overall.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.26.24 PMGavin Zinghini

Grade: 10

Running for: Executive Board

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: These past two years, I ran for student council because I thought that I could enact positive change, but this year, I know that with the larger responsibility of the entire school, I can make an impact on the school as a whole. After being in every corner of this school in the last two years, from band class to basketball, and everything in between. I know that I can make the decisions that would be given to me with the broadest horizon of of the student body in mind.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: My vision for the future of the school is to have an event that everybody loves and looks forward to. An ideal event brings people closer together, not only within their class, but with the entire school. I think that event is a gathering of food trucks at Mamaroneck High School where everybody can come and get something to eat at a reasonable price. This event, in my opinion will draw all types of people together because of one common interest, good food at a good price.

Back To Top


Senior Class

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.26.31 PMBrooke Smith

Grade: 11

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: Hi, I’m Brooke Smith Junior class president. We have had a lot of successes this year in Junior Student Council and I am dedicated to continue to improve student life at MHS. I am excited to be running again to be your senior class president! As president, I will continue to rally our grade towards inclusiveness, full participation in school wide events, and a supportive, collaborative environment for all students. I believe with my open-minded nature, approachability, my skill in assessing the needs of a social environment, and my total commitment to the student body, I will lead the MHS Class of 2018 to a successful and fulfilling future.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: As senior class president, I will continue to lead our grade towards total student engagement in all school wide activities. Together, we will create a new senior class tradition: the First Annual Mamaroneck High School Seniors’ Care Event. Based on this year’s overwhelmingly successful “Prom Inspired”, community service initiatives, I propose that our class works together further. I will lead you in providing an opportunity to give back to the Larchmont/Mamaroneck community. Indeed the class of 2018 is heralding a new era. I promise to bring our senior class a final year at MHS that will be extremely rewarding and memorable.


Meagan Matt

Grade: 11

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for student council because I want our senior year to be as stress-free and as spirited as possible. I want to work collaboratively with the student body and incorporate their ideas into what student council works on. Ultimately, I want our senior year to be  a unifying and rewarding final year at the high school for all students, no matter who they are.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: I want to work on reducing stress during our first quarter of senior year, be that through bringing puppies in during our most stressful weeks or implementing other enjoyable activities to keep things light. I want to increase student participation in student government through polls and social media, as well as through BOTC shirt designing and class commentary. Lastly, I want our school spirit to be through the roof next year with the addition of new senior traditions and the restoration of some loved old ones.


Emma Brammer

Grade: 11

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I have been a part of student council for the past two years. I would love to keep working on this team and extend my time working hard to improve our senior events. My organization skills and the ability to bring people together will be beneficial for making our senior year one to remember. I plan to utilize my time wisely in order to make the most of our last year.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: For many years student council has tried to do a senior lock in event. If elected president I would try my best to make this event become a reality. After AP’s are over our class should be able to celebrate the almost end to our year with an event that we will always remember. Not only do we want to make the most of our year, but to uphold to our beloved traditions and make new ones in which our class will always be remembered for.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.00 PMChloe Weiser

Grade: 11

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: Over the past three years I have had the honor of serving on our class’s student council. Through this experience I have had the opportunity to help plan events on the grade and school wide levels. I am running to be on next year’s student council to help represent the entire class and ensure that everyone’s voice is heard. I believe that with my determination, hard work, and organization that our class will have a fantastic senior year and leave a lasting impact on the MHS community.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: This year is the first year that Student Council planned a field day for Seniors. Next year I want to bring this event back and make it an annual event that seniors will look forward to. After this year’s field day, I will give a survey to the seniors to see what improvements can be made for next year. This is the last time our class will be together before graduation. In order to make it as meaningful as possible I will work hard, along with the other student council members, to get as many people to participate as possible.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.05 PM 1Katie Rasor

Grade: 11

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: As we are entering our final year here at MHS, I would take this position on student council as an opportunity to help make our last year a good one. This past year, my involvement with student council gave me the ability to step up and help with the planning, organizing, and running of many different events. I look forward to continuing this involvement by helping to create and organize more fun events for our senior year, and by making sure our entire class has a voice and is able to contribute their own thoughts and ideas.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: Being seniors, we want our class to be connected and involved next year. To make our last year a fun one, I would put a lot of focus on making a strong image for our class through different senior activities and events. Whether it be small things like barbecues in senior lot, or getting more hype around events like battle of the classes, I would work with student council to help get the excitement of senior year up.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.12 PMPhoebe Weiser

Grade: 11

Running for: Representative

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: As a member of student council for the past three years, I have loved serving my grade and planning special events like the Junior Prom. I am running to continue to represent the class of 2018 for next year. As seniors, it will be our last year at Mamaroneck High School and student council will play a large role in how memorable our year is. I am up for this challenge, and I know that with my creativity, organization, and work ethic anything our class wants to achieve will be possible.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: This past year, the junior class student council created a new initiative for our prom. With the purchase of every ticket, a cereal box was donated to the Larchmont-Mamaroneck food pantry. It was a huge success- over 400 boxes of cereals were collected, $300 donated and hundreds of families in our very own community greatly impacted. I would love to continue this next year by having the class vote on a charity to give to as part of the Senior Prom. Not only will we be planning an unforgettable night, but also giving directly back to our community.

Back To Top


Junior Class

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.23 PMReed Sakakeeny

Grade: 10

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for Student council because I want to bring change to the school. I want to improve upon what makes MHS great and make it the best school that it can be. I am a very friendly person that enjoys talking to all sorts of people and hearing what they have to say. I’m aware of the problems that MHS struggles with and I promise I will address them immediately. I’m a hard worker that is very dedicated to this school, the people and the teachers in it. I have spent two years on student council and ask for your vote again this year, as I believe I am the right person to represent the Class of 2019 and continue the success of this great class.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: As class president I would attempt to make the Tigers Den open 24/7 for all students to use as a chill space, a lunch spot, a study room, or even a nap room. I believe it is essential that in order for MHS students to be successful they must be happy and enjoy going to school. In addition, I would like to give all classes an opportunity to bond on a low cost field trip that all students will enjoy.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 9.17.03 PM.pngWilliam Sarkozi

Grade:​ 10

Running for:​ President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table. I am running for Student Council because I have heard about all of the thngs that go on during Student Council and I would like to be a part of it. My brother was on Student Council the last two year and I saw the things that that he participated in and I would like to join that. I have also been very interested in helping out to plan Junior Prom.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: Last year for Student Council, they sold pizza in the overpass and made a lot of money. I would bring back selling pizza in the overpass and maybe other small goods. Also, organization of a students vs teachers kickball game.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.33 PMAli James

Grade: 10

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for Student Council because I enjoy being a part of club in which we get to make things happen. I have been participating in student council since the sixth grade and it is something that I can’t picture my high school experience without. My friends and I have had some of our best high school experiences at student council events and it makes me really happy that I was able to help out in making those things happen.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One new event idea I have is a teacher rap battle. A huge part of our MHS community is made up of teachers, and honestly who wouldn’t want to see their teachers rap against each other. The Teacher Rap Battle would be an easy and fun way to raise money.


Tom Conley

Grade: 10

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I like been involved in organizing events such as summerfest, BOTC, Club fair, faculty basketball game and many others. I also want to help organize the junior prom and help raise money for us. One skill that I bring to the table is being outgoing.  If you ever have any ideas about how our high school experience could be better, I am here to listen. I am also not afraid to take any ideas that we have and run with them and try to make them a reality.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: Some ideas that I have is to have more class trips. The Mets trip that we scheduled this year didn’t go as planned but I got some interesting ideas. Paintball/laser tag, Amusement park. A play. I just want to schedule events that help to bring our class/school together. We could also make events better, like adding more events to battle of the classes, so more people can get involved in the fun!


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.42 PMSophie Leighton

Grade: 10

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for the class of 2019 student council because I would like to get more involved in the school, and build on my leadership skills by having a prominent role within my own grade. Having an outside perspective on student council for the past two years has allowed me to recognize the improvements and changes that need to me made in order to enable student council to represent our student body more effectively. I also feel that my current involvement within the school has provided me with the experience to plan events and develop ideas that will not only be enjoyable to the student body, but raise money for student council.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: If I were given the opportunity to create a new event, I would build on spirit week, and create Tiger Pride Day. This day would consist of all students showing pride through wearing Mamaroneck apparel. During lunch, students would gather in an outdoor area where food and Mamaroneck apparel would be sold, a raffle would take place containing Mamaroneck items, and awards would be given to the individuals with the most school pride. This would be a fun event that would interest a large portion of the students, encourage school spirit, and raise money for student council.


Mackenzie Lynch

Grade: 10

Running for: Vice President

Campaign speech: Many of you may know me, from lacrosse, field hockey, or just having a class together, but for those of you who don’t, my name is Mackenzie Lynch and I am running for Junior Class Vice President. Aside from sports, I am also a writer for the Globe, an avid participant in soup kitchens on early Sunday mornings, and have been a junior sailing instructor for the past three summers. I believe all of these have provided me with important life skills that will help me be the best vice president possible. Through these, I have developed leadership skills, management skills, an ability to think outside the box, and have been taught the importance of giving back to the community. Despite the fact I am new to student council and have attained less experience than that of some of my opponents, I believe I can offer new ideas and contribute a new perspective. These ideas include forms of fundraising for the junior prom, so we can make it more affordable and an enjoyable experience all together, finding new ways to raise school spirit, and addressing issues important to the class. A fundraising idea I have for Junior Prom is to organize a car wash. We would advertise this for a few weeks in advance to spread the word and get an ample amount of customers. We could do it right here in the post parking lot, which provides a steady flow for cars. It would be a wash and dry car wash with a price to be determined. An idea I had to raise school spirit was to bring back a spirit week, like we had at the Hommocks, but make it more entertaining and exciting for the students. The costume ideas will be original and make students actually want to participate. This spirit week could include a costume contest at lunch at the end of the week to vote on who had the most spirited costume each day. And of course the winner would receive a prize, also to be determined. Addressing important issues, like the ones I’ve discussed, prove that I am more than able at handling the vice presidency. These include worries about junior prom, finding a more accessible way to get back into the school when we use our privilege of open campus, and providing students with more student fundraising events, such as an ice cream social, that will help us get through junior year. Thank you!


Fatim Seck

Grade: 10

Running for: Representative

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for student council this year because I was involved with student council last year, and I really enjoyed being involved in student affairs, and organizing events that people enjoyed coming to. Since I play many different sports on many different teams, I am friends with different types of personalities and views. I believe that I can contribute many different perspectives to student council, and come up with ideas that many different people will agree with and enjoy.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: An event that I have thought up of is a trip to a New York Rangers game. I have talked to my close group of friends, and asked them what kind of sports teams or cool trips they would enjoy going to, and they agreed with a New York Rangers game. Something that student council did this year was a Mets game, which if I were to do it again, I would try and involve the student body more, and ask them what sports team they would enjoy seeing, rather than just setting up a trip without knowing if enough people would want to go. I would also try and advertise it a little bit more as I believe that people weren’t as informed about the trip as they should have been to make the trip more successful.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.49 PMVelbeth Cifuentes

Grade: 10

Running for: Representative

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: One reason I am running for student council is because I want to make a difference. I want to leave this school a better place for everyone today and always. I know that a lot of people who run for student council always say that, but it’s something that really matters to me. The key to me being successful if I win is to listen and really have people’s voices heard which is something I can do. Student council is for the school, and should be made with the opinions and suggestions of the school.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One event that I would like to help make more popular is battle of the classes. Over the last years battle of the classes has always been primarily fun for people that are athletic, but everyone is different. I’d like to add activities that everyone can do and include more people. Another thing I would like to do is to advertise it more, battle of the classes could be really fun when more people come together and support their own grade.


Also running:

Anna Giarraputo (Junior Representative)

Back To Top


Sophomore Class

Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.27.58 PMJesse Ward

Grade: 9

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for Class President to lead the sophomore Student Council of next year in its pursuits to make high school more fun and more exciting for everyone. I have been and will continue to be an organized, creative, and determined President. I’ve been able to run a productive Freshman council over the past school year, raising funds and running events to benefit our grade, and if reelected I will continue working to better school events and activities for all of the Class of 2020

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One idea I’d like to implement in our school would be a sort of Student Council forum, where students would be able to ask their representatives about their progress, acknowledge problems they think exist in current school events, and comment their opinions on Student Council’s work so far. This event would be a great way for the students to input on the proceedings of their representatives, and make the student government overall more responsive to the students.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.28.06 PMEli Gottsegen

Grade: 9

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for student council because it is a great opportunity to continue getting involved with the school and its programs. Student Council offers a unique approach for students to assist with and create events and fundraisers associated with the school. One of my goals is for the class of 2020 to become more cohesive and raise money effectively to contribute to events down the road. Some skills I bring to the table are creativeness, budget skills, organization and the ability to build consensus amoung different groups of people.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: During a student’s freshman, junior and senior year, there is one large event that many kids attend. These events include proms and one other dance not associated with the school that raises money for a hospital. Every grade, not including the sophomores, gets some sort of event specific to their class. During my sophomore year as a Student Council member, I want to create one sophomore event, like a Valentine’s Day card exchange or an arm-wrestling tournament, which would be a great way for bonding and fundraising.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.28.12 PMLily Kalish

Grade: 9

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for Student Council because I want to be involved here at Mamaroneck, and give the class of 2020 the best sophomore year they could ask for. As for what skills I bring to the table, in group settings, I tend to take a leadership role and like to bring in many opinions when making decisions, which I think would benefit me if I were president. Being a student here for the past year has made me realize how diverse the student body is and how this school tries to accommodate everyone, which is what I intend to do as president!

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: Think about this: at the end of every quarter, teachers pile on tests and it’s hard to keep up with all your work. After your third test of the day, you’re feeling lethargic and have no idea how you’ll endure your next class. What better pick-me-up than a cupcake? I propose that the Student Council create an event called “Sophomore Sweets: Random Acts of Cupcakes,” where at the end of every quarter the sophomores set up a little stand in the overpass and sell cupcakes. All proceeds would go to any and all event planning funds. Not only would this help the class of 2020, but it would brighten everyone’s day with a delicious snack.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.28.20 PMLisa Toudic

Grade: 9

Running for: President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for student council, to help modify some things in school to benefit school life for students. I am a very welcoming person, and I love to try new things and help solve problems. I am efficient, caring and organized in my work! I love helping people in the best ways I can and I also enjoy getting involved in school life from fund raising events to any school activity.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: I think MHS should organize a carnival. It would be a day where students either from the student council or from the school could create and organize fun carnival stands with games, food and music. In addition to the games, we could have a show where the dance teams and singing groups could perform. This would all be happening during the day where the students, families, and faculty come and buy tickets that let you play the games and watch the shows, participate, and win prizes! The money that is gained by this fair would be partially donated to a charity of the student’s choice, and to the school budget.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 9.00.57 PM.pngNatalie Manley

Grade: 9

Running for: President/Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for Student Council, not only because I care about our student body and am completely willing to do my part in contributing to it’s overall enjoyment and success, but also because I consider myself to be a strong, creative leader that will work hard for what I care about. I am happy to perform tasks involving organizational, planning and communication skills and consider myself to be strong in these areas. I’m always open to ideas and feedback from others and would love to work coraboratively with a team on events and other functions organized by Student Council.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: Battle of the Classes, although an already great event, I believe would be improved if more incoming freshman (or everyone really) understood how it (and other events) worked a little better. Students, especially freshman, can be easily confused about how certain events work and how to participate. If there was an online informaion page maybe about all the highschool events (not just BOTC), what to expect, who to go to with questions and ways to sign up and participate, it might be a bit less overwhelming for people, especially if an event is new or early on in the year!


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.28.28 PMGeorgia Mackie

Grade: 9

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I’m running for Student Council so I can be thoroughly involved in the politics and decision making of my class. Being a representative for each individual in the class of 2020 is something that excites and motivates me. I have an impressive work ethic, I’m energetic, expressive, and most importantly enthusiastic and driven about the challenge of representing my class. Being apart of student government has been something I’ve genuinely enjoyed over the course of my freshmen year, and is something I want to be apart of again.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: A new event I would propose if I were reelected is a back to school barbecue. This could be held at lunch one day in the beginning of school, on the track. It could be a welcoming event for new freshman and a celebration for seniors on their last year of high school. Maybe we could rent the Walters food truck, there’d be music, and some backyard games such as kan jam, spike ball, etc. This event would be a fun and inclusive way to kick off a new school year!


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.28.38 PMCharlie Mollin

Grade: 9

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I’m running for student council because I feel that I will bring creative ideas to the table that will not only benefit our class, but the whole school. I feel that I have the benefit of knowing a lot of people around the grade and their viewpoints, which will ultimately improve my decision-making. I will consider all of our grade’s different views and opinions when making a decision. I also bring other technical skills to the table: I believe I can use my creativity to regularly contribute unique ideas that could come to fruition.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One event that I’d like to administer and create would be an MHS “Amazing Race” (based on the TV show). Teams of two people would pay money to enter the race, and a large prize would be given to the winner in each grade. Each team would have to complete certain activities throughout the school like cooking a certain meal, and once an activity is completed the team would move on to the next stage with a clue from a card. The winning team would be the first to complete all of the activities, and this team would be rewarded with a prize.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.28.47 PMLeah Abraham

Grade: 9

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am interested in Running for Student Council for many reasons including the fact that when I was in 6th grade I wanted to be in the Student Council all the way throughout my high school experience. I did Student Council for 3 years in middle school. What I bring to the table isn’t a lot to be honest. I am very good at public speaking and coming up with cool ways to raise money.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One event idea that I have had for forever would be to do an end of the year like beach party thing. Personally for me I love to swim. I would think it would be a fun idea to get all the class of 2020 together and get to know each other more. I don’t want to sound cocky but I don’t think that everyone in the grade knows everyone, because each year there are new kids.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.28.56 PMBenji Shokrian

Grade: 9

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for student council because I want to allow my class to be the best they can be. I think that everyone in the current 9th grade is capable of being a great student and human being. I want to help raise money for the grade as well as have everyone have an amazing high school experience. I am a very organized and hardworking student who wants to help out this grade. I would be grateful to serve this grade as your Student Council Vice President.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: I want to help our grade raise money for future events in high school. As part of student council, I will try to implement fundraisers that will raise money. One idea I have for an event is a fair (carnival) that will have many different events that will include everyone. I want this to be a fun event for everyone at Mamaroneck High School. I will also help get more attendance at current school events. I want to revise the dance (The Phoenix) that gets a great attendance but can definitely improve over the upcoming years. I want more advertising and stronger themes which will bring in a larger audience to this great event.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.29.03 PMEliana Kraut

Grade: 9

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I want to be sophomore VP for multiple reasons. I want to get more involved in the school. Classmates have encouraged me to run, telling me that I would do a good job and would enjoy it. I’ve had opportunities to advocate for myself or peers and found them rewarding and enjoyable. As VP, I would always be available to talk. I am comfortable in front of a large audience, which helps for this position. Lastly, I’ve worked on teams with many candidates for president and representatives. I enjoyed working with them and would love to do it again.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: In being a Student Council representative, it is important to offer ideas, but also listen to others. I talked to members of our grade and members of the current sophomores, and all agreed that a sophomore dance would be a good idea. The freshmen have Vincent’s, the juniors and seniors have proms, but the sophomores have nothing. As Student Council VP, I would work introduce a signature sophomore event, such as a dance.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.29.10 PMIain McLaren

Grade: 9

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I ran for Student Council last year, and while I didn’t make it, I was very glad I did because it made me think of all the reasons I wanted to join.  I like the idea that I can be a catalyst for change in the very school that I attend.  I think it is we have a program that allows a group of students to see how they would like to interact with the school and then use that knowledge to create events or programs that include that very thing.  As for skills, I am a great student and listener, and I pride myself in being able to see how people react to different circumstances, including school events.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: I’m not sure if this would be possible, but I would like to create a “Freshman Orientation Day” where some a large group of upperclassmen arrive a day early with the freshmen and help acclimate them to high school life.  I remember on my first day at MHS, I was running around everywhere to try and find my classes.  Now, I know the routes through the school and the shortcuts to get around on time.  I think if there was a group of volunteering upperclassmen to help out and show the ropes, including some shortcuts, the process could be a lot smoother.


Lydia Ochoa

Grade: 9

Running for: Vice President

In 100 words or less tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I am running for student council because I have always wanted to be involved in this school and it’s community. I was inspired by the student council members I have met and I admired how committed they were to this school and the student body. I believe that I can contribute a lot to this council. First, I will bring the organizational and networking skills I have in planning events. I am also good at collaborating with others to achieve a common goal. I work well in a groups and include everyone’s ideas in a project.

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: One idea I have for a new event for school is a planting of trees or a garden around the school. I think that this is an activity for student body to work together to benefit our school. There is also another program that I think our school could join. The collaboration between MAS and the Westchester Land trust has resulted in the planning of tree planting projects in the Otter Creek Preserve in Mamaroneck. I think that this would be a great project for our school to get behind and help out.


Screen Shot 2017-05-14 at 4.29.17 PMScott Morris

Grade: 9

Running for: Representative

In 100 words or less, tell us why you are running for Student Council and what skills you bring to the table: I believe in government. It may not be pretty on the national scene, but at MHS, student representatives get the job done! I’ve worked hard (and humbly) on your behalf: raising money at Friday morning bagel sales and football concession stands. I helped orchestrate the ice cream social for teachers. And I did a lot of behind-the-scenes work: making flyers, hanging posters, recruiting helpers. Student council demands flexibility and commitment on big jobs and little jobs. To that end, my strong work ethic, good time management, positive attitude, and friendly inclusive nature make me a great candidate for Team 2020!

In 100 words or less, give one idea for a new event or explain how you would revise an existing event: If you vote for me, you get experience: I’ve learned a lot about the events we sponsor year round, so I can keep things running smoothly. But I also look at what we can improve. Two thoughts: 1) Student Council needs a digital presence, a website dedicated to all the activities we run and a place for clubs to post announcements. Dates, times, sign-up sheets. All in one place, so more people can get involved. 2) Let’s host a Fantastic Food Truck Festival next spring! Happy Meals for High School! That would definitely brighten school spirit here at MHS!


Alexa Sage

Grade: 9

Running for: Representative

Campaign speech: Hi my name is Alexa Sage and I’m a freshman this year, upcoming sophomore. I’m running for a representative position. I noticed and admired a lot of events run by the student council throughout this year. I was very inspired and after getting a feel for the school, I am ready to get involved. I feel that I bring great leadership skills, advocacy skills, advertising skills, and organization skills. As well as hard work and dedication, and can have fun while doing so. If I am elected I would like to continue and expand on the idea of the stress free vacation breaks. I believe it’s great that the school is not giving homework over the break to relieve stress of the students. I’d like to see this continue and expanded, for example it would be great to not have a test or quiz as soon as we get back from the break. I feel that definitely causes stress because even though you may have studied you may still be worried that you may have forgotten any necessary materials. I would also like to propose that the snack bar be open more often then it is throughout the day. There are times that the snack bar is open with popcorn and lemonade but I would like to see it open more often because sometimes I’m not hungry or I’m not available to stop when it’s open. And maybe with there being more snack times we could raise money for charities and organizations. I would like to see the bagels in the morning continue. I would also like to propose more game days at

lunch or after school where there can be mini soccer, basketball, or dodgeball tournaments in the gym or on the field to get the students competing, running around, and having fun within the MHS community. And as the next year starts up we can see what else there is to do to get involved and help continue making MHS a student centered environment. Thank you! And don’t forget to Vote for Alexa Sage she is all the rage!


Also running:

Alex Herzig (Sophomore Representative)

Back To Top

Have thoughts on this article? Leave a reply

