Congratulations Tenured Teachers!

Ms. Jordan

Ms. Jordan has been working at Mamaroneck High School for three years. She teaches English 9 and English 10.

What have you enjoyed most about working at MHS?

The students are energetic, kind, interested and really willing to take risks. I feel very lucky to teach this student body. The second part is I’ve really enjoyed working with my colleagues. The teachers here are really smart, really creative, really generous with their ideas, and I’ve been very lucky to work with such high caliber faculty… I feel like there’s all this positive energy towards education that I don’t think you find at a lot of other high schools, even in Westchester.

What are some things you look forward to working at MHS in the future?

I’m looking forward to working collaboratively with some of the other departments in the school. Next year, they’re talking about doing some work with West Side Story in the English department, so I’m looking forward to that collaboration… and to continuing my work with the PSH (Promoting Student Health) committee, what I call the de-stress committee, because I really do hope that we can improve the lives of students, in terms of the amount of stress they’re under. I’m looking forward to figuring out ways to get the writing and the voices of our students out more.

Mr. Madin

Mr. Madin has been working at Mamaroneck High School for two years. He teaches both English 10 and Journalism.

What have you enjoyed most about working at MHS?

The students, I would say, and the access to creativity. I don’t think many schools allow you to be yourself as a teacher… Just the fact that I can go to Ms. Clain and ask her to do anything and she will go with me on most of my projects is worth the price of gold.

What courses have you enjoyed teaching?

I love the Journalism class and I love [teaching] 10th grade. I can’t tell you that I’m going to feel stuck or attached to any of those. I think it’s wonderful that Ms. Clain was open to creating a Journalism program here because I think we needed that… And the 10th grade, I love the books and I also love that age. I think it’s good to go in-between 9th and 11th and really have that growth moment [to] tackle some tough texts and discussion… That said, my dream is to teach with Mr. Short and Ms. Groniger, and maybe I’ll teach AP in a couple of years.

Mr. Greene

Mr. Greene has been working at Mamaroneck High School for three years. He teaches Global History & Geography 10 and AP European History.

What have you enjoyed most about working at MHS?

The other teachers are really good, and the students are also very good. It’s a strong academic school.

What are some of the things you look forward to at MHS in the future?

I look forward to continuing to grow my Advanced Placement class and encourage more students to participate in it. I look forward to working with other teachers on developing new techniques and ideas on how to better engage students. What course have you enjoyed teaching or hope to teach in the future? [Throughout] my whole career, I’ve only ever taught three courses. I’ve taught Global History 9 & 10 and AP European History, courses that I’d love to continue to teach. I would very much be interested in teaching AP World History, if that ever gets offered.

Ms. Zhao

Ms. Zhao has been working at Mamaroneck High School for three years. She teaches Chinese 2 & 4 and French 1.

What have you enjoyed most about working at MHS?

Mamaroneck has one of the oldest Chinese programs in the nation. It was a privilege to work in a community that has a big support of the Chinese program. I have really enjoyed promoting the Chinese program and Chinese culture on campus. There are so many families who have all of the siblings taking Chinese at our program, and then these students continue to take Chinese classes in college and visit China with their families. It is really awesome to see the community interested in Chinese language and Chinese culture. I also enjoy working with academic technologies at MHS. I enjoy updating my curriculum with the newest technologies and approaches. MHS provides teachers with good technology support. Mostly I enjoy working with my colleagues. The teachers at MHS are passionate and compassionate. I can turn to my colleagues for ideas of teaching and help with personal life. It is a great community to work in.

 Dr. M

Dr. Mercanti-Anthony has been working at Mamaroneck High School for three years. He is one of the Assistant Principals.

What are some things you look forward to at MHS in the future?

So, I’m not going to be the assistant principal anymore. I’m moving over to the Office of Student Support Services where I’ll be the Interim Assistant Director for Special Education… I’m looking forward to continuing to work with kids and support them.

What have you enjoyed most about working at MHS?

The people. I have worked in a lot of places, and this is by far the most talented and committed faculty that I have worked with. And the kids here are great… They’re caring, they’re smart, they’re intelligent, but they are also grounded. What do you like to do in your free time? I have a 22 month old son, so I don’t have a lot of free time, but I garden.

Ms. Peterson

Ms. Petersen has been working at MHS since 2008 as a substitute teacher, and moved to the role of transition counselor three years ago.

What are some things you look forward to at MHS in the future?

[I’m looking forward to] continuing to build the vocational program that I work on with students in the transition academy program, and just giving them more opportunities to learn and grow.

What have you enjoyed most about working here at MHS?

[I enjoy] working with my students. They’re amazing. They make my day. What do you like to do in your free time? I am a mom of triplets, so playing with them. And I’m a huge Mets fan, so [I enjoy] going to see games.

Not Featured

Ms. McCarthy & Ms. Quackenbush both received tenure this year, but unfortunately could not be interviewed for this article in time. We congratulate them!

Have thoughts on this article? Leave a reply

