The Globefather: Nodding Off

Advice you can’t refuse

Dear Globefather,

I cannot, for the life of me, seem to be able to keep my eyes open in class. The moment we start taking notes, my eyelids feel heavy and I struggle to pay attention. When I try to sit down and do my homework, I either can’t concentrate or I pass out for an hour or two. I try to get to bed earlier, but every night I find myself finishing my work later and later. Any advice on how to get my energy levels back up to normal?

Sincerely, Nodding Off

Dear Nodding Off,

I cannot tell you the number of times I’ve sat down to get my work done and woken up an hour later completely disoriented with the imprint of a history textbook plastered across my cheek. I know exactly how its feels to try so hard to keep your eyes open and suddenly realize that they have been closed the whole time.

This is completely normal for any student, and, as frustrating as it is, will be something that everyone will most likely encounter at some point. However, there are a few strategies that can help get you through this exhaustive rut.

First and foremost, always do your homework sitting upright in a chair. Never do homework while lying down or in a bed; it’s a recipe for disaster. You’ll end up asleep within ten minutes, and you will wake up more exhausted than you were when you started your homework.

Another idea is to go to bed early and wake up early. Sometimes getting work done late at night is difficult because you are tired from the day and have little patience to focus. By going to bed early and waking up early, you get a fresh start on your homework, well rested and ready to work.

As for falling asleep in class, if focusing on what you’re learning is not interesting to you, find something that you can focus on simultaneously. Obviously nothing that will take away from your learning experience, but definitely something that can enhance your engagement. This could include doodling, chewing gum, and drinking water. Also, if you take detailed notes using different colors it can be more engaging. If none of this works, take a quick, two-minute walk outside of the classroom. It will rejuvenate you, making you ready for the rest of class.

Unfortunately, you will never be able completely get rid of your exhaustion. However, hopefully by living by these strategies, you will be able to lessen the effects of it and be productive with your time.

Yours Truly,

Screen Shot 2016-02-13 at 3.33.51 PM.png

Have thoughts on this article? Leave a reply

